Super jerk

I feel like an ass.
Today was absolute shite. I got Lauren up and to work and everything was fine. It was the start of a good day. I came home and got a few things together for camp, messed with our network a bit and then left to go give Lauren lunch. The usual. Well after lunch I came back home and started working on the network again, and I needed to use the laptop computer to look something up while I was on the server. I have a very kick ass high performance gaming laptop that I’ve been letting Lauren use out in the living room so that she can work and still be close to me so we can hang out, since I’ve been spending most evenings in the living room working on our home media setup.
We shut it down before bed last night, but left the screen vertical. Well, when I hit that power button, nothing happened. I took the battery out and blew on the contacts, and I unplugged the A/C adapter and reconnected it and still nothing. So then, in master sleuth mode I went to check the fuse box. Everything was ok there. I started kind of panicking, as I do when a high ticket item of mine is not doing its job. I went back to the laptop and noticed that the keyboard was sticky. I gave it a quick sniff and immediately knew what the fate of my laptop was. Our cat Bonk, who has been at war with me for months, had finally crossed the line and did the ultimate shitty thing. He got on top of the laptop and pissed all over the keyboard. Now before you assume I am just assuming, I have fixed laptop computers for years. I worked as a Dell warranty tech for years and have done lots of freelance repairs and yes, I know from much experience what a fried motherboard looks and smells like, once it’s been pissed on by a cat.
I freaked out and texted Lauren and told her what happened. This is not the first time this little shit has destroyed my things. He has wrecked our carpets, killed 2 pairs of my flippyflops, and pisses in my sink on a weekly basis. I told Lauren NO MORE!! We are getting rid of him! When I got to work to pick her up I was still fuming! I was just so angry that this little furry fucker was destroying my stuff!! This was the last straw! I paid big bucks for that thing and it was top of the line 2 years ago! And I had JUST fixed it about 3 weeks ago for an overheating issue! Well we got home and I was taking her to the bathroom, and I saw that she had tears coming down her face. I said “are you crying??” And she replied “it’s ok. It’s just that I saw Bonk when we walked in and I am going to miss him.”
I felt like the biggest piece of shit. I can’t believe I was so stupid and heartless to let my anger make her cry. She didn’t even protest my saying I want to get rid of him. But I saw how it made her cry even though she tried not to. I hate myself for that. I want nothing in my life but to make her smile and laugh. Never cry. I could just crawl into a cave right now.

About remotecontrolgf

I'm a 40 something year old guy that takes care of my girlfriend, who has a genetic disorder called Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA). I'm a musician, computer geek and gamer. This blog is about my life with my soon to be wife Lauren, and the things both good and bad that we go through together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Super jerk

  1. Awww, Jerry, at least you realized that you were not happy with the way you acted. Kudos to you! You understand how Lauren feels and it looks like you are willing to put Lauren’s happiness before yourself. It sounds like you need to make a huge sacrifice. Next time, allow time to “cool off” before going forward. Be prepared to have all your defenses down. If you go in angry and frustrated, you will not succeed and will probably make things worse 😦 God bless you both!! See you at camp 🙂

  2. Bless you. I’d have probably done the same thing x

  3. studiosity says:

    Sorry you feel bad man. But you’ll get over it. And use it to remind you in future never to act in anger, it’s usually rash.
    Best wishes mate.

Leave a Reply

