4 days till camp!

So our annual week long camp is coming up on Saturday! It’s pretty much the coolest week of the year for us. It’s called With a Little Help or WALH camp. It’s a week long camp for adults with Muscular Dystrophy. Basically it’s for the “Jerry’s Kids” after they become too old to go to MDA kids camp but still want that same experience they grew up with. This is going to be my 4th year taking Lauren and its a life changing experience.
For one week every summer, people with MD can come and have a great time hanging out with friends, going for walks on great paved trails in the woods, and there are lots of volunteers around to help them with whatever they need, yet give them the freedom and space that they want. We’ve got poker tourneys that go in until the wee hours of the morning, lots of cool activities, but no set schedule. You can spend all day in the woods by yourself or with a few close friends if that’s what you want. It’s just a great atmosphere and a week with a bunch of great people. I’m super excited this year because Lauren and I get to spend the week sleeping in a 100+ year old HUGE house called “the Castle!” I’ll be filming in it a bunch and will surely get some footage up here.
It’s going to present it’s share of challenges though to be sure. It’s not what you would call “accessible” by any means. The bathroom is very small and there is NO way I will be able to shower her in it. So we will be bathroom nomads and try to use the girls cabin showers whenever we can.
This is an important week for us. With just a month and a half before we do this wedding thing, we need some time away from real life and the grind, just to hang out and spend time together. This wedding thing is such a pain in the ass. All of our parents are insane and drive us crazy. I just want to get it over with. I never thought marrying the person you love would be this difficult. You may not know this, but the government basically bans people with disabilities from marrying people without disabilities. Sounds like some kind of joke right? Well it’s not. If I were to LEGALLY marry Lauren (sign a marriage certificate and have it notarized), Lauren would lose her Medicaid. Seriously. She would lose all of her insurance. No more assistance with anything. Because in our glorious country, if she legally marries me, she has to take on her husbands insurance. And my job doesn’t offer any Insurance. Yep. I work in the HEALTHCARE industry and I don’t get insurance. And I can’t afford insurance on my own. So yeah. The government will NOT be invited to our wedding. But that doesn’t make it any less of a wedding or marriage. We will be husband and wife in our hearts and minds, and in the hearts and minds of all of our guests. And that’s what matters. Fuck the government. More rants about that whole deal later. It’s late and I’m ready to veg in front of the YouTube machine. I’ll be back later.

20130724-115028.jpg

About remotecontrolgf

I'm a 40 something year old guy that takes care of my girlfriend, who has a genetic disorder called Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA). I'm a musician, computer geek and gamer. This blog is about my life with my soon to be wife Lauren, and the things both good and bad that we go through together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

