I’m at the spa!

This is my first blog entry. It’s also my first blog. I’ve always been into technology and the newest Internet trends, but for some reason I’ve never done a blog. So here we go!
I’m currently sitting at a salon. Not my first choice of place to be, but here I am. I’m sitting here waiting for Lauren to get a face wax. Lauren is my fiancé. Now normally a guy can “opt out” of tagging along on a trip to the salon, but her case is a bit different. She has SMA. That’s Spinal Muscular Atrophy for all of you that may not have heard of this disease. Basically, all of the muscles in her body have shrunk into not very useful meat. Her brain however is not effected. She is a very smart 28 year old girl that cannot move much besides her head and her left hand a little. She’s not paralyzed, so she feels everything.
That being said, in every other way she is the same as any other 28 year old girl. She is very stylish, she loves her cats, she has a great job that she loves and she is going to become my wife in less than 2 months. We are having our wedding outside in a beautiful garden, and the reception at the big event hall at her place of work.
My full time job is taking care of her. I am her hands basically. Since she can’t move, I have to do all of the things that people normally do for themselves. Everything from getting up out of bed, showering, combing her hair, getting her into her wheelchair and putting her hand onto her joystick, I do for her. Once she is in her chair she can drive herself around. I also am her chauffeur. I drive her wheelchair van to kart her wherever she needs to go. And today it’s the salon (the face ripper).
I’m also her personal chef. I do it all. I cook her meals, cut them up small enough for her to chew (she doesn’t have much jaw muscle so it’s hard to chew) and finally get it from the fork into her mouth. All the things that we take for granted I do for her. All the way down to the simplest things like scratching an itch and swatting away a mosquito that is biting her arm. Imagine that… You have a mosquito biting you and you have to notify someone and then wait for them to respond and react, all while experiencing the little sucker draining your blood. Just a little something to think about.
This blog is basically going to be my life living with Lauren, and the stuff we go through and how I deal with it all. I’ll be updating this site as often as I get time. I have a lot to talk about. But for now i must go. She is done and I have to go get her wallet out of her backpack and pay for the waxing. Fun stuff!

About remotecontrolgf

I'm a 40 something year old guy that takes care of my girlfriend, who has a genetic disorder called Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA). I'm a musician, computer geek and gamer. This blog is about my life with my soon to be wife Lauren, and the things both good and bad that we go through together.
This entry was posted in On the go! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

